Saturday, June 26, 2021

The Status Of This Blog

It's been three weeks since Cobby passed away.  At the time I wrote something short for my Facebook friends, intending to write something longer here.  I already had a "Passings" post started as there have been many Zoo Friends who have passed away in recent times, most without a mention from the Zoo. 

I feel that every Zoo Resident is important, and deserves their life to be acknowledged.   The Zoo seems to pick and choose who they mention.  Some get media attention, some get a sign at their home, some get a social media mention, some get ignored altogether.  Those are the ones that really hurt my Soul.  I just feel they all need to be recognized.  Each Being that lives at the Zoo, has someone who cares about them, even if it's not a visitor, it must make those who are that Beings Keeper feel really bad when that Being in their care does not even get acknowledged.  It takes nothing to make sign or a social media post.  It does say something about the essence of the Zoo, when it's not done.

I've decided to just go with the post I had started and add Cobby to it.  I would like to have done the post I intended, as I have known Cobby a very long time, and had a connection with him.  Those who know me and/or have followed this blog, know how much the Chimps mean to me.  

At this time, since I still have those posts in draft that I need to finish and publish.  I have to use whatever energy for blogging that comes over me, for them.  Over the past thirteen years of  Zoo related blogs, I have tried everything from just sharing all that I knew about the Animals in my first blog in 2009, to the Director's retaliation against me, to my Crusade to Save the Chimps, to other's with a mix of subjects.  It's been an exhausting ride, and I would love to do nothing more than just write about all the Zoo Happenings, especially the good things with our Animal Friends, but as you might know if you have been following along, I have not posted consistently for some time, so that's obviously just not something, as hard as I try, that I'm going to follow-thru on.   Zoo issues, really bring me down.  Writing about them takes alot out of me.  It's time consuming, not to mention unhealthy mentally and physically.  It's often taken six-eight hours to put together a post.  Organizing notes and thoughts, photos, links,  I try to present information the best way that I can, because contrary to what management might think, I don't just throw up made-up crap to start trouble.  My goal has and will always be to document (for awareness) what I think are real issues.  The Zoo likes to keep things secret, so most do not understand what is really going on there.  Outside of myself and those who work there, I doubt there are many who do, and that's how they get away with doing the things that just aren't right.  

As I said, it's been thirteen years since I started blogging about the Zoo in one way or another.  As a Richmond District Native, I grew-up going to the Zoo.  I have had a Membership my whole adult life, except for the two times the Director has taken it way because she didn't like my opinions.  In 2008, after losing my Cat of twenty years, I sought solace in the Zoo.  I worked flexible hours at home, so I went to the Zoo five days a week.  It was during that time that I became endeared to the the Animals as Individuals, and sought out learning about them and their history.  I talked to Keepers, and did in-depth research online.  In the following couple years I learned more about Zoo politics than I wanted to know, and that's how this all started.  

I love the Animals, and want the Zoo to be all it can be, for them.  The Zoo just needs to be better.  Better for the Animals, and for the Visitors, as it goes hand in hand, for the Zoo to thrive.  In the past decade, I just haven't seen that happening.  So I've documented it.  I have opinions.  I have suggestions.  That will never change.  Unfortunately, that has made me vulnerable to being targeted by the Director.  Regardless, I will continue to present the truth as I know it.  

Hopefully once I catch up on the posts I feel are most important to have documented, I can get back to other subjects.  But, for now, unfortunately I feel the best thing for this blog (and the future of the Zoo) is to finish those posts, because so many things need to be said.  The past two years have really proven that things there just aren't right.   It's upsetting and frustrating, but mostly sad, because I think our Zoo in real trouble. 


As of July 1, 2021 ... Blogger will no longer send out New Post Alerts to Subscribers.  If you are a Subscriber, you can follow me on Twitter ( leo811sf )  if you want to be alerted.  

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*


Sunday, April 25, 2021

What Does It Take To Get Thrown Out Of The Zoo?

I'm going to interrupt the posts I had from last weekend, to post this in a timely manner.

I wrote about this in the moment at the beginning of this week, while sitting in my car. I never write posts on the phone, but was very emotional and just wanted to get it out.  Phone glitched and I lost the original.  After that, I just needed to move on with my day and feel better.  

My usual visit days are Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.  As I headed to the Zoo Tuesday, I stopped to see the Owls at Sutro Park.  It was 8:30a and with my impending Zoo visit, my mind and emotions were still on something that happened at the Zoo the day before.  I experienced something I never have.  I didn't want to go to the Zoo.  By 10a I had decided not to and was really bummed.

I avoided people all day and had a great time with wildlife. Here's a photo of Papa Owl and of a Family of Western Bluebirds I watched for over an hour, as the fledgling was practicing flying, Mama and Papa with it, while they also flew to the cavity nest to feed their other chicks. 


So, back to what was bothering me.  Actually nothing new, the same old irritation at people not wearing masks.  What finally got to me this day, was the continued situation of the Zoo not throwing people out, who are deliberately offensive to other guests.  

What happened Monday, was the second time I reported a no mask situation and there was an attack on me that was not handled what I consider appropriately, and by that I mean the offenders should have been thrown out. 

So, I was walking on a path, and I saw two women coming toward me at a distance, one with her mask down.  I waited til they were about twenty feet from me, to see if she was going to put hers up.  With no place to distance myself, I motioned, and said, Can you put your mask up, we are crossing paths.  She looked at her friend, and put it up.  That should have been the end of it, but with the self-entitled it never is.  She stopped when she got to me and asked if I worked there.  I said, No, but I can easily call someone who does, who will then tell you the rules you already know.  She then says, You do you.  At that point I was ready to call Security, and I turn and her friend, is about two feet from me and has completely removed her mask, just to be a jerk.  They walk off.  Security happens by and I point them out and relay what happened, noting that the friend deliberately put forth what I consider a health assault and they should be thrown out.  Of course, I saw them again, so nothing happened.  ... I had previously called Security when a guy with two kids came and stood next to me at Gorillas, all not wearing masks.  I could have walked away, but why should I when there are rules.   I distanced myself and told him they all needed to be wearing masks, and he proceeding to school me on why they weren't, eventually calling me the Devil for even suggesting it.   I walked away and called Security.  Security talked to him, during which he was yelling at me and acting irrational.  His outburst actually had me a bit shaken.  When I saw Security later I asked what happened.  He said he filed a report and it was up to management to take action.  In my opinion calling me the Devil should have been cause for being thrown out, and if a Member (something they never ask offenders) further reprimand, but instead, he was was allowed to continue on with his day.  

I feel like the Zoo's policy coddles the offenders and the hell with protecting the other guests.   It's always been like that, even pre-pandemic.  I have reported people harassing and harming Animals and they don't even get thrown out.  I've even been sworn at for telling people not to throw stuff at the Animals, and Zoo management does nothing.  There's a sign of rules at the entrance that states something to the effect of, If you are offensive to another guest you may be asked to leave.  That has never been my experience.

I know Zoo management could care less about my experiences there and I know there are different rules for me than there is for other people.  Maybe these outcomes are just another case of that.  I guarantee, if I had sworn at someone or called them the Devil, I would have been banned from the place.

I know there are other guests being verbally and behaviorally assaulted and they just don't report it. There are alot of Members I see regularly and they are uncomfortable with the dining situation, people allowed to go maskless in general, crossing paths with them, and standing right next to them.  So, I'm not the only one who is sick of it.  One relayed an incident where she asked someone to put their mask up and was called a bitch.  This is all outrageous. Just because we are <cough> reminding people of the rules, we should not be victims and offenders should not go unpunished.  Non-members should to be asked to leave without a refund.  Members should be asked to leave for the day and have their memberships put on probation for at least a month.  

People know the rules when they make their reservations.  That should be binding.  Especially to Members.  I had an interaction at Chimps recently, that was a Wow moment. 

It wasn't crowded, I was in my circle, and two stroller mom's with additional kids approach.  They pass the open circle and stand in between, one about a foot from me.  I waited a minute, then pointed to the available circle, and said, there's a circle, we are supposed to be at a distance.  She sarcastically said, Oh we're going to do this?  I said, those are the rules. She didn't move and replied, You should stay home.  I thought, WTF? Are you kidding me?  I said, Well you should follow the rules.  I just stepped back out of my circle to distance myself.  When I did, I noticed she was wearing a Guardian Member lanyard.  So disgusted that a Member, told a random guest they shouldn't come to the Zoo, and because it was based on following rules.  I didn't report it, because nothing would have happened.  

This is what happens when rules aren't strict (leaving it up to basic signage and people's own responsibility) and there are no consequences for not following them.

I know there is always going to be some jerks who just won't follow rules, but frankly the Zoo can do better with the no mask issue.   Especially when it comes to the roaming maskless eating and drinking situation, that has become out of control.  I've wrote about it before, but maybe I need to post again and put some thoughts in their collective brains that haven't produced good protocol in the past year.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Monday, April 19, 2021

Orangutan Update Part Two - The Current State Of Triple Grotto & My Ideas

This post was part of the previous post.  It stands alone, but noting this in case you want to stay updated with the Saga that is, a home for the Orangutans. 

So, as a reminder, this is what has been done at Triple Grotto.  ...


Everything that has been done, is so that the Keepers can access... since there is no netting.
AND this is because there are allegedly no funds (because factually no fundraising was ever done) to do anything in a way that would provide an appropriate enclosure.  

Nothing has been done for the Orangutans. 

When I wrote the first idea, it was last weekend, after seeing the Middle Grotto structure had been cut in half.  
Middle Grotto cut in half

I've mentioned netting in several posts.  I still believe that would have been the obvious and ideal way to go, considering the moat and the island size limitation.  It would have also provided them with something built in that they could use to move about naturally. Something they already make great use of when they are in the Chimpanzee yard. Per the Orangutan Husbandry Guidelines.....  Triple Grotto as is, is not set-up for climbing and swinging.  The Animal Care Staff will have to rig up hose and rope to create these options.  That is something that would have been done anyway, but considering the limiting size and structure already on the islands, it seems it might be a challenge.


I had thought of, and was going to suggest a climbing panel like what was on one side of an old Chimp structure in South Grotto years ago, might be a good idea for one of the two existing structures.  Then last week I noticed half the structure in Middle Grotto had to be cut down, due to corrosion. As well, in a discussion learned that those cargo style nets can be dangerous.  So, I then I had another idea.  I suggested that they build up another level with a platform, and look into a panel of some kind of netting, if possible, the same used in the Chimp yard, and attach it to one or a couple sides of the structure. Because as is, that half structure does nothing for the Orangutans vertical needs.  Just ideas, I know Animal Staff will do the best they can with what they have. 


North Grotto w/Net Idea

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Blogger's Statement
"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."
For Full Statement see this post:
https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*








SFZoo Orangutan Update Part One - Franklin Park Zoo Plans New Ape Enclosure

Last weekend, I did something I had never done before.  I wrote three blog posts at the same time.  I near finished all of them, so it was quite productive.  I planned to finish in the evenings during the week and publish.  Days ran too long, so that didn't happen. 

This week presented an idea that went with the second half of this post.  So, I have now split the post.  Please look for the post following this one for part two. 

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

I've had this sitting here since the announcement a couple weeks ago. 

https://www.zoonewengland.org/zoo-news/2021/march/franklin-park-zoo-announces-new-outdoor-gorilla-habitat/

I understand that this is not directly related to our SFZoo Orangutan situation, but it indeed indirectly does.  This is a Great Ape enclosure.  Same basic design, whether for Gorillas, Orangutans, or another Great Ape species.  This is a new build, while our Triple Grotto is a renovation of an existing enclosure.  This is very modern, with a price tag to match.  

Point is, without any grand modifications, to Triple Grotto (being renovated for the Orangutans), there weren't a group of Zoological Society donors who would fund at the very least netting?  Not even filling in the moats, just netting so we could have avoided the skyscraper bridge eyesore.  And yes, I'm stuck on the netting aspect for the simple reason, if netting was part of this renovation, all that other cement and metal crap would not be necessary.  And yes, I know that there are plenty of Orangutan enclosures that are not netted, but I would bet that most have a substantial amount of topical space, while our existing grotto islands have very little.  

I have written so many things about Triple Grotto and configuration ideas.  One being, netting South Grotto before Orangutans were out of quarantine, so they had a dedicated space of their own from the start.  It didnt even need to be anything more than that.  Just so they had SOMETHING!  At this point, with last week being the two year anniversary of Ollie's (the male) arrival here, with female Amoi arriving two weeks later, at least they would have had a home of their own, two years ago.  Think about that. It's been two years.  Over 100 weeks.  Moving on.  I also have maintained filling in the moat (if net used) would be ideal for optimum topical space.  Even if they went back to their original plan of renovating only one grotto, but that one grotto with moat filled in and netting, that would be better than what they have done.

Another idea, keeping with the use of two Grottos, either initially or in the future, with more funding, or should I say, actual funding, was a walk-in viewing area like at Wolves could have been added in between the Grottos (where they have built the bridge craziness) and made it really nice, for the Orangutans, and visually pleasing to the aesthetics of the Zoo.  Adding an overhang on both sides of a viewing window would have not only provided a shelter area for the Orangutans, but also for visitors during rainy days.

Blue would be Net
Gold Walk-In viewing
Orange Windows

I'm not unreasonable.  I know all Zoos are struggling in the wake of the shutdowns and work with limited funds even before, but when I see basically nothing be done to raise funds for the better part of twelve years, it's upsetting and frustrating.

I have a post in draft about the lack of fundraising so the only other thing I'll say in this one, is a repeat from previous posts.  The San Francisco Zoo Director and Zoological Society decided to acquire Orangutans at the very least six years ago.  At that point, fundraising should have begun.  No excuses. That is what should have happened and it didn't.  Everyone should be asking why.

Yes I realize all this is moot, since the Prison Pit is already done.  I can't keep ideas from flowing, and I'm thankful my brain works that way.  It's good to think about what could have been.  What should have been.  When you do, also think about why this situation is a huge Zoo Fail.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Sunday, March 21, 2021

Less and Less Space For The Orangutans - Another Triple Grotto Update

Not only is there less and less space, I have still not seen one thing that is FOR the Orangutans.

As with my previous post titled,  Disgust At The Triple Grotto Renovation - Our Poor Orangutans, I was not going to do another Orangutan/Triple Grotto update until this joke of an enclosure opened, but I missed something in that post that really needs to be pointed out.  

The situation is getting worse, and I'm not exaggerating when I say this makes me physically sick.  It's hard to even go by there, just looking at (or thinking about) it makes me want to cry.  Tears are welling as I type this, with visions of this sick plan and the life Ollie and Amoi will be stuck with in this disturbing offering of a home.

So, the only new thing for this week, is the prison wiring went up, to keep the Orangutans from accessing the roof of the night quarters building. ... Hard to see in this photo, but it looked like a few rows of probably hot wire, around the roof of the building.

Additionally, what is worse is something I never even considered was permanent, when I saw it last week.  The huge box that holds and I assume acts as a stopper for the skyscraper bridge, is there to stay.  It's obvious that it is permanent, but like I said, never crossed my mind last week, as I'm pretty sure I was distracted by the whole bridge and platform monstrosity. 



The box, which is in both grottos, looks to be about 3.5 ft square cube.  Not only are they an additional ugly-ass eyesore, that is alot of space being taken up when you think about how small the topical part of the island is to begin with.


To get an idea of how these boxes, even further shrink the topical area. ... The islands are outlined.  They are approximately the same size as one quarter of the Chimp yard, as shown.  The red boxes on the islands show actual size, as the one that has two includes the twigging mound that is similar in size.  

It's hard to believe that this falls into any current aka modern guideline the AZA (Association of Zoos and Aquariums) has for housing Orangutans, or any other Animal.  But it's also hard to believe that the AZA and their SSP (Species Survival Plan) breeding program would send the Orangutans here without a dedicated enclosure.   But, they did. 

Two years later and I would still like to know what transpired between the AZA/SSP and our Zoo Director to make that happen.  It's truly shameful, yet neither party seems to think so. 

That all said, I personally don't have any faith in the AZA doing the right thing in many circumstances, so I'm not entirely surprised.  I started a post in early December 2019 titled, Is The AZA a Questionable Leader In Zoo Animal Welfare?  It was born out of a specific situation, but that was just a culmination of too many questionable instances put forth by the AZA/SSP that I've either known about at our SFZoo or read about in other Zoos.  

My draft list had gotten too lengthy for me to ever have the energy or the time to get to, so I narrowed it down to what I felt most needed to be documented, and that AZA post didn't make the cut.   That said, there are some very relevant points that come to mind that I'm going to include in this post. 

The first time I approached the AZA with a concern, I was told to send it to the Accreditation department.  Note that anytime you contact them, they usually do not respond.  You put forth your concern and it either gets attention or doesn't, and you never know what, if any action was taken.  

After years of ignoring my shares via Twitter to them about the breachable barriers that put Animals lives at risk, they contacted me and asked for more information.  Yet, of course when I sent it, there was no response.  There was also no action, as those breachable barriers are exactly the same years later.

Barrier issues is just one issue point.  Other's include, transferring and/or housing of Animals, when in my opinion it's not been in their best interest.  This includes, like with the Orangutans, acquiring Animals that have no place to live or have been hoarded away to inferior housing.  

One example that was disgusting, is the Zoo housed Squirrel Monkeys in a concrete room, with no outdoor access for more than four years.  Either the AZA didn't know about it, or didn't care, but what is curious is that the Santa Ana Zoo got it's accreditation yanked for the way they housed small Monkey species, that actually had an outdoor area.  There just seems to be something not quite right with the things that are allowed to happen at SFZoo.

An article about the Santa Ana Zoo accreditation issue.  Noted in the article is the reasoning.  Here's a screencap. 


https://www.ocregister.com/2017/06/09/outdated-monkey-exhibits-lead-to-loss-of-accreditation-for-santa-ana-zoo-but-officials-have-appealed/

Yet, the AZA has no issue with sending Orangutans, to live at a Zoo that has no dedicated enclosure for them.  It will be interesting to see what they think when they see Triple Grotto!  Still outdated, and now surrounded in concrete. It surely is NOT modern!

So, I don't know what they consider good or bad. It seems to be fluid, depending on what Zoo you are.  We certainly seem to get passes in situations that seem disgraceful and in the current (yet, not only), case of the Orangutans, cruel.

San Francisco Zoo accreditation is this year.  Will the AZA think this shit-show at Triple Grotto is an acceptable housing situation for Great Apes in the the year 2021?

Related post and video

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2021/03/disgust-at-triple-grotto-renovation-our.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ykFLabiXrs

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Palace Of Fine Arts Swan Update - Is Blanche Being Fed and Checked on Daily?

I visited Blanche yesterday afternoon.  It was very upsetting, and now there are so many questions.

Last week when I heard she was returned to the Palace of Fine Arts I was shocked and sad for her.  In my opinion, doing so was Irresponsible and Cruel.   

Here is the link, for those who need to catch up on her situation.

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2021/03/palace-of-fine-arts-swans-update-male.html

I was already in for the week when I heard this news, so I planned to check on her first thing Monday morning.  I didn't get there Monday or Tuesday, and was disappointed in myself.  So, yesterday was my next day out again. ... I'm a believer that everything happens the way it's supposed to, and the Universe confirms that every time it positions me where I need to be, and at the time I need to be there.

When I got to the Palace, unfortunately it was packed, and too many people with no mask.  I maneuvered that health assault obstacle course over to Blanche, who was at the edge of the Lagoon, with a woman who was feeding her, her daily corn.  

From visiting regularly for many years, I know the Swans are given a can of corn everyday, possibly twice a day. ... A few years ago when I was concerned about their diet, as I mostly see the Waterfowl at the Zoo get a soaked pellet type food, in addition to some greens, possibly some other veggies, I researched what exactly they should be eating, and corn was a staple mentioned.  The Ritz Crackers and Cereal I saw them being fed regularly by a Caretaker, were not.  I would assume that the salt content of crackers isn't the best thing, but I don't know that for sure.

I had not seen this woman before and asked her about the feeding schedule and additional diet she was getting, as I heard the Zoo had been giving both Blanche and Blue Boy an appropriate diet and that some food was sent "home" with Blanche.

The information the woman provided was concerning and raised unanswered questions.  Among the things she said were,...  She didn't know who, when or how often anyone was feeding her.  She was asked by someone (although she didnt know who, and was not in contact with them) if she could come on Saturdays to feed Blanche corn. She was under the impression that a some feeders need a break, and possibly longer as two were going on maternity leave.  She said they were still feeding her Ritz Crackers.  

I don't know what the recommended amount of Corn is, but I think both Swans were given one can to share, once or twice a day. While I stood there, Blanche ate almost the equivalent of three cans, out of a juice bottle.  She seemed ravenous.  I have to wonder when the last time she ate was?

Blanche eating her corn.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DGExqz-yn0

After she finished all the corn there was, she moved along down the edge of the Lagoon towards people feeding the Ducks.  A girl came up and started feeding her a Cupcake.  I asked her not to, noting that she had a special diet.  Then a Family carrying six loaves of bread showed up.  I educated them about feeding bread, and also told them not to feed her that.  Blanche was still trolling for food, and I felt bad.  While in the moment, I felt it was the right thing to do, for her health, but I ended up feeling guilty, like I prevented her from a meal, when she was obviously hungry.  The whole situation was very upsetting.  And, I should not be feeling bad, because I'm not the one who is denying her what she needs at this point in her life. That's on the Caretaker Gayle, as she is responsible for Blanche's well-being, and the Rec and Park who should be monitoring the Caretaker.

Short clip of Beautiful Blanche on the Lagoon, going looking for a handout, because she's still hungry.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPpiV36b0_g

I will keep repeating this, because I think its a valid thought, and again disturbing that returning her was the decision made.  It does not seem like it was in her best interest.  At her age, previous health issue, and vulnerable environment (both human interactions and possible toxins), she should still be at the Zoo, living in a controlled environment, monitored by Animal Care Professionals, and fed a proper diet.  I have no idea if a conversation ever took place between the Zoo, Rec and Park and the Caretaker Gayle, about a permanent retirement home at the Zoo, but I strongly feel like it should have.  I'm completely disturbed that Blanche is back on the Lagoon, and alone.  At the very least, once she got clean bill of health, they could have tried to put her at the Puente and seen how she adjusted.  It would have also given extra time for her to be monitored.

In my previous post I noted that my opinion about Blanche not returning to the Palace might not be popular with locals.  I don't know what the overall feeling is, but one of the neighborhood visitors said I was not alone in how I felt and that others that frequent the Palace were also upset that she was returned during the storm, and also worried about her being there in general.

I will continue to seek answers, as the situation seems unstable. While I did find out that the Gardeners have been feeding her, I want to find out how often.  I want to know if there is a schedule of reliable people committed to feeding and checking on her morning and evening everyday.   I want to know if anyone is following the Zoo's diet recommendations. From the information I have so far, no one seems to really know the complete management program and/or where Caretaker Gayle fits into that.  Is she even regularly involved?

I still believe that everyday that Blanche is out there alone, and unmonitored, is detrimental to her well-being.

I'm just very sad for this Precious Lady.  Please keep her in your thoughts.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Saturday, March 13, 2021

Disgust At The Triple Grotto Renovation - Our Poor Orangutans

Yes, I'm Disgusted.  Yes, Our Orangutans continue to be given no regard by the San Francisco Zoo management. 

Note that my disgust is not aimed at the Primate Staff.  They have done everything possible to provide the Orangutans with the best life they can, given the situation management has put them in.

I am so outraged, that at this point, I don't think it's in my best interest to publish the post I wrote in full.  So, for now, I will just go with this abbreviated version because I wanted to share the video I made on Tuesday, before the week ends.

I have sat here for days, piecing together my thought notes, and too many weave a narrative that could put a target on me, as it has in the past.  While everything I want to say is truth, and my personal opinion based on that, criticism of management to the degree of the words I have written, quite possibly may not fall under MY right to freedom of speech without retaliation.

In my previous post, I started by saying it was a heavy 48 hrs at the start of this week.  Still sad from the loss of Blue Boy the male Swan, I got to the Zoo and felt physically sick when I approached Triple Grotto.  

I wrote an update about the renovation progress February 21st.  At that point the perimeter walls had been built up with cement, what looks like about three feet.  With no netting in the plan (deemed too expensive), this was necessary to bring it up to code. There was other construction that I couldn't tell what it was for, but that took some form by the end of last week.  Obtrusive looking, and with raised perimeter, it has made entire area look like a cement wall.

When I approached Monday morning this was what almost brought me to tears.

I seriously could not believe what I was seeing.  This huge metal bridge looks like a fallen skyscraper.  Together with the built up cement walls, it looks like a prison yard.  All they need is a watchtower with guards.

THEN by the next morning, this stairway and platform were there.  Good grief this is getting worse with each passing day. 


I made a video.  Feast your eyes on this Fiasco.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ykFLabiXrs

The bridge moves in a 180, so even when centered, similar to the illusion this photo gives, it's still disgustingly ugly and ridiculous.

 

The video was unpublished until this post, but I shared it with my Zoo Visitor friends and coincidentally, two long-time Zoo Members made the Prison connection without even knowing I had written the same analogy.

"This is not a natural habitat it’s a cement and metal jail that has no place for animals..."

"The grotto needs to look more natural, not prison like"

Here are some others

"It doesn't even look like an exhibit.  Amoi and Ollie deserve better."

"Looks strange. Don't understand what they are trying to do with that exhibit."

"I've never seen anything like that. It's like a throwback enclosure from the 60,s or 70,s... At first glance I thought it was a swimming pool... Poor Orangs surrounded by concrete... how can they people watch? Visitors are a much needed form of enrichment for apes in captivity."

"All this time and this is the best they can do... Its just not good enough"

"OMG!"

"It's way over engineered for what its supposed to accomplish.  This looks more like it all belongs in the maintenance side rather than what viewers will ever see."

"Wow!  They've made a proper mess of it!"

"Your video is upsetting. Those poor orangs... what on earth is the zoo thinking? That looks horrible!!!! I'd love to hear an explanation."

"What the heck!"

"Why did they actually bring orangutans too the zoo if they don’t really care about their well-being? Hopefully they are still working on the exhibit. But it really doesn’t look good."

and,  "Sure hoping this won’t be the final result!"

As for the final result, I can't imagine anything FOR the Orangutans other than some fire hose and roping.  Regardless of what else they do, what they've already done is here to stay and there's no dressing it up!

All of this is just nonsense.  Disturbing nonsense.


Clearly no regard for the Orangutans went into this design.  So far, I've seen nothing for them.  It was obviously born out of keeping the cost down, and since netting is considered to be costly, everything was done to avoid using netting.  Although I can't see where all this crap and two months of labor could cost that much less. ... The cement walls.  Taking down the walkway from night quarter building to island.  The weird bridge.  All so that Keepers can access the enclosure from the visitor path, since there are now no walkways.  Who knows what else will be added, because right now it is curious how the Orangutans will be kept off the bridge, and since no walkway, how they will access the islands.  

I know there are many Orangutan enclosures in Zoos that are open air, with no netting.  Which would have been fine if the topical space was larger to begin with and perimeter design was such that cement walls of this height were not needed in the year 2021.  

If netting had been used, with or without filling in the moat, there would have been no need for the cement walls, or the awful metal bridge.  It would also be clear that the renovation attention would have been with the needs of the Orangutans in mind.  

This is how it should/could have looked. ... All those trees are not necessary, just showing a larger topical area (even with our existing platforms).  Netted over and it would have looked nice and been a decent home for Amoi and Ollie and their future offspring. ... As well, if funding possible, that would have even provided for multiple options of viewing windows to be added in the future.

Coming to the San Francisco Zoo has been a prison sentence for Ollie and Amoi.  Like all prisoners, they have gotten sometime in the yard, but the majority of each day is spent imprisoned in caged tubes and night quarters.  

As it appears, they are going to go from spending time in that nice new Chimpanzee yard, to this ancient pit, that according to the AZA (Association of Zoos and Aquariums) wasn't even fit to house Chimpanzees in current times.

Speaking of AZA, I have to wonder if this renovation is only happening at this time, because the Zoo has their Accreditation Inspection this year.  Can't be for the Orangutans, because their needs haven't been priorty in the two years they have been here.

As well their future with the babies they are recommended by the AZA/SSP (Species Survival Plan) to have, will apparently be to sit on two ancient islands for the rest of their lives.  It's sick.  

This enclosure could have gone from two small areas, each approximately a quarter the size of the Chimpanzee yard, to one large area.  This would have also allowed for an additional space for the Chimps to use, and Orangutans to continue to be rotated into the yard.  Isn't that why there are Skytrails?  Isn't that why it's called the Great Ape Passage?  They sure have seemed to botch that, because as is, I don't see how or why the Chimps could, would or should ever be rotated back into this area.




The Zoo Director knew in 2014 possibly earlier, that she wanted to bring in Orangutans.  There is absolulty no reason they could not come up with funds from 2014-2019 to net over South Grotto before the Orangutans got here, so they had a dedicated space and then they could have continued fundraising for however long it took to do North and Middle Grotto right.  Something I wrote about a year/half ago.  Doing that would have done justice for the Orangutans, for the asthetic of the area and the permanent upgrade to the landscape of the Zoo.  As is, this is a blight with no vision or care put into it, other than to do it as cheap as possible.

For those who aren't familiar with the San Francisco Zoo here is a Satellite Map.  Triple Grotto is positioned in a focal point of the Zoo.  ... The red line shows the position in relation to the entrance.   In addition to the disservice to the Orangutans, to make this area what they have, is just bad.  



I don't see this turning out better by the finish, and to that I say, the Zoo should be embarrassed.  

Frankly, I hope one day there is new management and they raise proper funds, and bulldoze this eyesore down.

Related post

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2021/01/new-will-2021-be-year-that-orangutans.html


*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Blogger's Statement

"Personal Opinions and Facts presented publicly are Not against the law or any rules. ... Censorship and Retaliation Actions in an attempt at Suppression are frowned upon by Healthy Societies."

For Full Statement see this post:

https://iamnotananteater.blogspot.com/2018/09/my-zoo-status.html

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*